Catherine – The Cat in the Hat Beginner Book Dictionary by the Cat Himself and PD Eastman

received_1401968786502451This much-loved, much-abused item was my prized possession when I was five years old and was given it for Christmas by Aunty Gwyneth.

Every page had something on it that held me spellbound – whether it was the fairy falling flat on her face, the gargling bear or the kite-flying alligator. Words were not so much defined as put to use and relished. This book taught me to love words and the stories they told.

Much later, as a teenager, I graduated on to reading the Oxford English Dictionary in bed – and I wondered why I didn’t have a boyfriend!

When I had my own children I shared The Cat in the Hat Dictionary with them – they enjoyed it, but it did not have the impact it had had on me in the late 1960s when I considered it the most beautiful thing I had ever seen.

Leave a Reply

