Sarah – Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

img_1792I’m really fascinated with the stories behind stories, so it didn’t take much to convince me to read Hidden Figures – a book about the women behind the Space Race. Getting the chance to learn the personal stories of the black women who fought against Jim Crow laws and a country that underestimated (and, frankly, continues to underestimate) them to help bring men from Earth to the moon was a dream come true. It adds a depth I didn’t know was missing to my favourite part of recent history.

I’ve read heaps of novels and been inspired, but this week I’m being inspired by women who worked to achieve other people’s dreams and had to wait 50 years to be recognised for their work.

Leave a Reply

