Eleanor – The Tales of Earthsea by Ursula Le Guin

20160923_151612I’ve gone for four books in one with The Tales of Earthsea novels by Ursula Le Guin, an adventure full of magic and darkness in an otherworldly fantasy land of islands and uncharted seas. A Wizard of Earthsea (1968), The Tombs of Atuan (1971), The Farthest Shore (1972) and Tehanu (1990) are beautifully written and so barely there in detail to what we know today. Sparrowhawk is myth-like, a fabled anti-hero. Earthsea has been a firm favourite since I was a teenager. Now I know Le Guin created a genre, writing science fiction and fantasy before it had a name. She’s a master.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s