Amy – Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

DSC_4879Ever since doing a comprehension exercise on a passage at school I’ve wanted to read Brave New World. That’s about ten years now, and it’s taken this long as I really only read once a year, on holiday. So last summer it was To Kill A Mockingbird during an American Road trip and this year Brave New World accompanies me to the Cote d’Azur.

So, ten years on, what do I think? I’m not as engrossed as I was with 1984, but Huxley’s dystopian universe makes you consider ours. They may live free of troubles from mosquitoes to war, but the bland sterility of an otherwise perfect existence leaves a lot to be desired.

Leave a Reply

