Gavin – The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb

20160715_160518The book I have chosen (with great difficulty) is The Assassin’s Apprentice, by Robin Hobb.

There are a few reasons for this. Firstly, it is the last paperback I ever bought, before I was dragged into the digital age and succumbed to Kindle ownership.

I wanted to read something outwith my usual genres and had a strange craving for a fantasy novel. There is something both nostalgic and comforting about effortlessly disappearing into another world, whilst sitting on the 07:57 from Kilwinning. I didn’t expect much from the book if I’m honest as it was picked from the bargain bucket, however I was very pleasantly surprised. The characters, the story and particularly the writing have all been excellent and I have since read the full series. The final instalment in the series is due early next year and I have never anticipated a book release quite so much. I look forward to revisiting the imaginary world of castles, sword fighting and dragons and would encourage others to give it a go!

Leave a Reply

