Mairi – Boyracers by Alan Bissett

IMG_2516Boyracers is the first novel from Alan Bissett, published in 1999. Alan was in my Sixth Year English class and has gone on to write many more novels, plays, and to become an all-round star in the Scottish literature firmament. I loved this book as it was the first I had ever read about my hometown, Falkirk, and the first time anyone I knew had had anything published. It evokes huge nostalgia for me about my time at Falkirk High School, and all the agonies and ecstasies of being a teenager in a Scottish town. It is fast-paced and funny, and for me, full of references to people and places I’ve loved (and hated). It’s sex, drugs, parties and near-death experiences in Callendar Park. What’s not to love?

Leave a Reply

