Miriam – The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers

pixlr_20160806055753765I chose The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter because it speaks of my home in the deep south and reminds me of my upbringing in Alabama and Columbus, Georgia, which was also McCullers’ home – something I learned only after moving to the UK, to which my mother replied, “oh yes, her family went to our church; I’ll take you by her house.” There is something poignant about the central character of the novel being a deaf mute that takes on whatever burdens the other main characters place upon him, sometimes without his knowledge, almost always without his consent. The setting, the characters’ motivations, and the (mostly) well-handled use of race in the novel makes it as relevant today as it ever was.

1 thought on “Miriam – The Heart is a Lonely Hunter by Carson McCullers”

Leave a Reply

